Me Time

Hi all, I am sorry for my lack of posting lately. I took some time where I did not feel that I had to do a thing. 

So, I am back and ready to update you on my summer so far, some confessions and some amazing food I have been having! Here I go!

First things first… summer is fabulous. No doubts about that! I have so far finished 2/3 of TWO books! I am almost one with my THIRD of the summer and it is not even the end of June. I am pretty proud. I have been stepping out of my comfort zone with book titles and subjects and am really enjoying exploring different adventures that way! It is also nice to shut down the TV screen for awhile and have quiet. Spending it outside with my Ellie is also a perfect way to let the day pass. IMG_3010

I have a celebration to share with you!

In February I went to a local boutique and bought a pair of Grace and Lace leggings. They are very soft and a quality fabric. I was disappointed because they did not fit the way I had hoped. They were tight and seemed to be see through… I am happy to announce that I wore them OUT yesterday. No… you don’t have to worry about my exposing myself… they were BAGGY! Yes, the leggings that were extremely tight and see through are now loose and I can wear them comfortably. Huge deal for me! 

Remember when I shared that I was going to indulge in the pool this summer? I really didn’t like the whole public pool setting with a bunch of noise and distractions. I knew I wanted the same feel of water and sun though. So… after realizing that our backyard is actually pretty cute (we live in an upstairs apartment of a house)… I went and bought a 10ft blow up pool!!! Mike and I inflated it this past weekend and WOW, it is a summer staple for sure. I love it. It is big enough that multiple adults can sit in it and cool off or relax. Best part… I don’t have to go ANYWHERE! Even better? Ellie is able to come down and hangout too! It is great. Best $25 spent yet!

IMG_3087

I had stated food above! So, here is a breakdown of the things I have been most excited about lately.

  • I found these Goodness Knows bars today!!! I had not eaten yet and picked these out as something to keep me in the car ride home. I was super impressed. I will buy more next time!
  • I made oat flour, banana and strawberry bread with honey. It has been my (and Ellie gets a bite) breakfast for the past week. It is honestly exactly what I need to start my summer day.
  • One day I made oatmeal for breakfast, I wanted something different so I put together what I had. I made old fashioned oats with almond milk, honey, cinnamon, and blueberries. It was a yummy treat for sure.
  • On our last family fun night… we had a nacho night! I made regular meat and cheese with rice nachos and then made these sweet potato, black bean, corn, ground turkey and cheese nachos too! They were a hit. 🙂

On Friday Mike and I went on a date night to Cheesecake Factory. It was a wonderful evening and I chose the fish tacos! MMMM were they good. I think I am developing a Mexican addiction haha.

IMG_3082

I have been doing different things to change up my workout routine. I run most mornings! It is fun to get up and start my day with a cool run when I know it will be hot during the day! I have missed my work out buddy though, he works during the days! I have worked in yoga practice and some walks with Ellie too. It has been great!

Something I am looking into doing this summer is revamping my cleaning supplies! I want to start making my own with vinegar and other natural items. I think it will help with my healthy lifestyle. I love diffusing essential oils and having them around the house… so why not clean with them too?! I will keep you posted on the progress!

PHEW! That was a long post…. I even feel like I have forgotten things…well… I will reflect and write again!! Thank you for reading, and staying with me through my breaks and relaxing summer.


What has been your highlight this summer?

Have you tried making your own cleaning supplies?

Any new recipes?? (I love food)

 

Leave a comment